The Birthday Invite I Decided Not To Send

Not a lot of people know this, but November 9th is a pretty important day in Berlin history. The Fall of the Wall, Kristallnacht- even the death of the shortest reigning kaiser. It’s also my birthday; but to be fair, Berlin was here first.

Anyways, every year I tell myself I’m not going to make a big deal out of it, but then I remember that I enjoy attention and people buying me things. This year is also the 25th anniversary of the Fall, so Berlin’s getting extra special with the celebration. While I appreciate that the reunification of Germany was a pretty big deal, I find myself perturbed by the fact that something is preempting my big night. So here is the birthday invite I decided not to send:
the-most-memorable-photos-of-the-fall-of-berlin-the-wall-2
“Well. Another once snuck up on me, meaning I should probably do something or other to celebrate the passage of my time on this planet. PLUS! IT’S ALSO THE 25TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE FALL OF THE WALL!!! WOWEY OMIGOD!!!

So for my special day, we’ll start by taking a WALK ALONG THE LIGHTED PATH OF WHERE THE WALL WAS while I get mildly intoxicated.

Then dinner at Vapianos ALEXANDERPLATZ WHICH USED TO BE THE CENTER OF EAST BERLIN!!! WHOOO!!! HISTORY!!!

Finally we’ll adjourn to a cheaper bar in KREUZBERG WHERE THERE WAS ONCE A SECTION OF THE WALL or maybe into FRIEDRICHSHAIN or NEUKOLLN!!! And who knows? Maybe there’s some karaoke at Monster Ronson’s near THE EAST FREAKING SIDE FREAKING GALLERY!!! THE WALL IS SO CULTURALLY SIGNIFICANT!!! I AM NOTHING COMPARED TO THE FALL OF THE WALL!”

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

